

ABERDEEN CITY & SHIRE STRATEGIC DEVELOPMENT PLANNING AUTHORITY

Date: 26 June 2014

Title: SDPA Chair and Vice Chair

1 Purpose of Report

1.1 The purpose of this report is for the Aberdeen City and Shire Strategic Development Planning Authority (SDPA) to consider a variation to the implementation of the Minute of Agreement before referring it to the two councils for ratification.

2 Background

- 2.1 The Minute of Agreement between the Aberdeen City Council and Aberdeenshire Council governing the operation of the SDPA dates back to its formation in 2008 and has been amended once since then in May 2010. http://www.aberdeencityandshire-sdpa.gov.uk/nmsruntime/saveasdialog.asp?IID=550&sID=38
- 2.2 The agreement defines the two-year fixed terms in office of the chair and vicechair which was based on the standard 4-year cycle of local government elections. The relevant extract of which is set out below:

"Chairman and Vice Chair

2.3 The Chair and Vice Chair of the SDPA shall be elected by the Members attending the first Meeting of the SDPA. The Chair and Vice Chair shall not be from the same Council and they shall hold office for a period of 2 years from the date of the first meeting. At the end of the Chairs term of office the Vice Chair will automatically assume the role of Chair and a new Vice Chair will be elected."

- 2.3 The current chair of the SDPA (Councillor Ramsay Milne Aberdeen City Council) is due to stand down from this position in September 2014, making way for the current vice-chair (Councillor Peter Argyle Aberdeenshire Council) who would be chair until September 2016 (nine months before the next scheduled local government elections.
- 2.4 Councillor Argyle is the current Chair of Nestrans, with Councillor Milne as Vice Chair. The expectation is that they will swap roles mid-way through the local government election cycle.

3 Discussion

3.1 This report recommends that the current and subsequent term for the Chair and Vice Chair be varied so that the transitions occur at the end of December 2014 and then at the end of June 2017.

- 3.2 The purpose of this variation is to maintain the link between the chairmanship of the SDPA and Nestrans while also recognising the five-year term of the current councils.
- 3.3 It is understood that the breaks proposed above would also be used by Nestrans, although any such decision would be for the Nestrans Board to make in due course.
- 3.4 If agreed and subsequently ratified by both councils, Councillor Ramsay Milne would continue as chair of the SDPA until the end of December 2014, at which point Councillor Peter Argyle would take the chair until the end of June 2017. Two-year terms would then resume, as set out in the Minute of Agreement.

Next Steps

3.5 Given that the Minute of Agreement is between Aberdeen City Council and Aberdeenshire Council, if agreed, this variation needs to be referred to Aberdeenshire Council's Infrastructure Services Committee (meeting on 21 August 2014) and Aberdeen City Council's Enterprise Strategic Planning and Infrastructure Committee (meeting on 4 September 2014).

4 Recommendations

4.1 It is recommended that the SDPA refer this report to both Aberdeen City Council and Aberdeenshire Council for agreement of the variation to the implementation of the Minite of Agreement as set out above.

David Jennings, Strategic Development Plan Manager, Aberdeen City and Shire SDPA

Dr Margaret Bochel Head of Planning & Sustainable Development Aberdeen City Council

ABERDEEN

Robert Gray Head of Planning and Building Standards Aberdeenshire Council



Report prepared by:-David Jennings, SDP Manager